Mille Lacs Band Announces Primary Election Results


The Mille Lacs Band’s primary election on April 3 determined Sheldon Boyd as the winner in the Secretary-Treasurer contest and narrowed the field of candidates to the two top finishers in the races for District II and District III Representative. The Band’s general election will take place on June 12.

Vote totals – Secretary-Treasurer

In accordance with Minnesota Chippewa Tribe election law, any candidate who receives more than 50 percent of the vote in the primary election is declared the winner. No general election will be held in this contest.

Sheldon Ray Boyd — 453
Carolyn Marie Beaulieu (incumbent) — 348
Bruce Scott Harrington — 47
Total — 848

Vote totals – District II Representative

District II includes Band member communities in Minisinaakwaang (East Lake), Sandy Lake, Minnewawa near McGregor, and Chiminising in Isle on the south side of Mille Lacs Lake. Those in italics will move on to the Band’s general election.

Raina Elaine Killspotted — 70
Marvin Ray Bruneau — 49
Thomas Lee Benjamin Sr. — 44
Michael Robert Aubid — 31
Louis Kevin Merrill — 0
Total — 194

Vote totals – District III Representative**

District III includes the Aazhoomog (Lake Lena) community near the St. Croix River east of Hinckley, as well as a large community of Band members living in Hinckley. Those in italics will move on to the general election.

Laureen Gay Davis — 62
Wallace Ervin St. John — 59
Diane Marie Gibbs — 51
Bonnie Lou Matrious — 24
Clifford Kenneth Churchill — 15
Total — 211

The three positions up for election are part of the Mille Lacs Band Assembly, which is the Band’s legislative branch. The Band Assembly consists of one Representative from each of the reservation’s three districts and the Secretary-Treasurer who presides over the Band Assembly as speaker. Enrolled Band members at least 18 years of age are eligible to vote for, and serve in, these positions.