Candidates Certified for April 3 Primary Election


The ballot is set for the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe's primary election April 3. Mille Lacs Band members will choose between three candidates for Secretary-Treasurer and will select new representatives in District II and District III.

Secretary-Treasurer Carolyn Beaulieu was certified to seek reelection and will be challenged by Sheldon Boyd and Bruce Harrington.

In District II, Representative David 'Niib' Aubid chose not to run. Those seeking to replace him are Michael Aubid, Thomas Benjamin Sr., Marvin Bruneau, Raina Killspotted, and Louis Merrill.

District III Representative Harry Davis also decided not to seek reelection. Vying for his seat will be Clifford Churchill, Laureen Davis, Diane Gibbs, Bonnie Matrious, and Wallace St. John.

The primary election will narrow the field in each race to the top two candidates, who will face each other in the general election. If any candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote in the primary, he or she will be declared the winner, and no general election will be held in that contest.

Winning candidates will take office in July.

Voting will take place at community centers in Districts I, II, IIa, and III, and at All Nations Church in Minneapolis. District I Community Center is the designated polling place for absentee ballot voting.

Polling places will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. for both the primary and general election.

Elections for Chief Executive and District I Representative will be held in 2020.