April 3 Primary Will Narrow Field for Secretary-Treasurer, District Reps


Members of the Mille Lacs Band will vote in a primary election April 3 to determine the candidates in the June 12 general election.

The primary election will narrow the field in each race to the top two candidates, who will face each other in the general election. If any candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote in the primary, he or she will be declared the winner, and no general election will be held in that contest. Winning candidates will take office in July.

Voting will take place at community centers in Districts I, II, IIa, and III, and at All Nations Church in Minneapolis. Dis- trict I Community Center is the designated polling place for absentee voting.
Polling places will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. for both the primary and general election.

Three candidates are running for Secretary-Treasurer: Carolyn Beaulieu (incumbent), Sheldon Boyd, and Bruce Harrington. In District II, Representative David 'Niib' Aubid did not seek reelection. Running for that seat are Michael Aubid, Thomas Benjamin Sr., Marvin Bruneau, Raina Killspotted, and Louis Merrill.

District III Representative Harry Davis also chose not to run. Seeking that office are Clifford Churchill, Laureen Davis, Diane Gibbs, Bonnie Matrious, and Wallace St. John.

Elections for Chief Executive and District I Representative will be held in 2020.