Chief Executive Encourages Band Members to Vote August 14


Chief Executive Melanie Benjamin addressed the following letter the Band members encouraging them to vote in the Minnesota primary election.

July 27, 2018

Dear Mille Lacs Band Member:

The Primary Election in Minnesota is only a couple of weeks away. On Tuesday, August 14, you will have the opportunity to VOTE in one of the most important primary elections in history. Now, more than ever, we must exercise our right to vote. I encourage each of you to make your own decision about who to vote for — and most importantly, I urge each of you to GET OUT AND VOTE!! If you are undecided, I am writing to make you aware of the candidates supported by the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe.

You may ask yourself, “How does the Mille Lacs Band determine if a candidate is supported?” The answer is simple: If a candidate supports our treaty rights, our sovereignty, and our government-to-government relationships, the Mille Lacs Band will support them. Our voice and our vote can make positive change in our local, state and federal government!

A couple of federal candidates who will be on the August 14 ballot and have the support of the Mille Lacs Band are Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith. Amy understands our issues and meets with tribal leaders on a regular basis. Tina made a visit to us during our annual pow wow, addressed the crowd, and visited with members of the community.
Below are the important Primary Election Day candidates (􏰀 Bold = supported candidate):

Mille Lacs County Attorney
􏰀Judge Richard Osburn
Jan Jude
Joe Walsh

*Minnesota Governor and Lieutenant Governor(
􏰀Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan (DFL)
Erin Murphy and Erin Maye-Quade (DFL)
Lori Swanson and Rick Nolan (DFL)
Tim Holden and Ole Savior (DFL)
Tim Pawlenty and Michelle Fischbach (R)
Jeff Johnson and Matt Kruse (R)

Minnesota Attorney General
􏰀Keith Ellison (DFL)
Tom Foley (DFL)
Debra Hillstrom (DFL)
Matt Pelikan (DFL)
Mike Rothman (DFL)
Sharon Anderson (R)
Robert Lessard (R)
Doug Wardlow (R)

Eighth U.S. Congressional District (Includes: Reservation Districts I, II and III)
Kirsten Kennedy (DFL)
Michelle Lee (DFL)
Jason Metsa (DFL) 􏰀
Joe Radinovich (DFL)
Soren Sorensen (DFL)
Pete Stauber (R)
Harry Welty (R)
Ray Skip Sandman (I)

Fifth U.S. Congressional District (Minneapolis Band members live in this district.)
􏰀Patricia Torres Ray (DFL)
Jamal Abdulahi (DFL)
Margaret Anderson Kelliher (DFL)
Frank Nelson Drake (DFL)
Ilhan Omar (DFL)
Bob Carney Jr. (R)
Christopher Chamberlin (R)
Jennifer Zielinski (R)

How to vote on or before Primary Election Day — August 14

Election day, in person: To vote in person on August 14, find your polling location at and search for “polling place.” The site will prompt you to fill in a portion of your address. If you’re not registered, bring a photo ID with your current address.

Vote early (absentee): You may also vote every weekday by absentee ballot on or before August 13. Just visit and search for “absentee voting” to get instructions based on where you live.

If you have questions or need to schedule a ride to VOTE early via absentee ballot, please call Jamie Edwards at 612-850-2124, Katie Draper at 320-515-0846, or Shena Matrious at 320-279-3132 (Government Affairs) for more information.

There will be rides to the polls leading up to Election Day, Election Day activities, and other information shared through social media, Inaajimowin, and other communication channels to inform you about Primary Election Day.

Please vote, and encourage your friends and family members to vote.


Melanie Benjamin Chief Executive

Paid and Prepared by Mah Mah Wi No Min Fund 1 #30348 100 Washington Avenue South, Suite 2200, Minneapolis, MN 55401