Election Day is June 12


Mille Lacs Band members will go to the polls tomorrow, June 12, to elect District II and District III representatives and a school board member from District I.

The District II Representative candidates are Marvin Ray Bruneau and Raina Elaine Killspotted. The District III Representive candidates are Laureen Gay Davis and Wallace Ervin St. John. The District I School Board candidates are Joe Nayquonabe Sr. and Billie Jo Boyd.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m at the following locations.

– District I Community Center 43500 Virgo Road, Onamia (for absentee balloting).

– East Lake Community Center 46666 State Highway 65, McGregor.

– Chiminising Community Center 2605 Chiminising Drive, Isle.

– Aazhoomog Community Center 45749 Grace Lake Road, Sandstone.

– All Nations Church 1515 East 23rd Street, Minneapolis.

The new elected officials will take office on July 9 and will serve four-year terms.

The two candidates from each district were chosen during the April 3 primary election. Also in that primary, Sheldon Boyd was elected to the office of Secretary-Treasurer. Because Sheldon won more than 50 percent of the vote, no general election is necessary in that race.

District I is the designated polling place for absentee ballot voting. Eligible voters are enrolled Mille Lacs Band members, 18 years of age or over. Any questions regarding absentee balloting and other general election questions should be directed to Mille Lacs Band Election Judge Deanna Sam, Office Phone: 320-532-7586 or 800-709-6445, ext. 7586. Cell: 320-279-0178. Fax: 320-532-4782. Email: deanna.sam@millelacsband.com.

For more information, see the official Minnesota Chippewa Tribe election notice on page 12.

Miigwech for voting!